In the News: New Washington law cracks down on newcomers who don’t register vehicles
Aug. 7, 2019

Moving to Seattle can be an expensive prospect if you don’t register your vehicle quickly. A new law is hoping to convince newcomers to obtain a Washington state driver’s license and re-register their vehicles locally.

The new law creates an incentive program that ultimately reduces the fine. Previously violators could be fined up to $1,529 for the first offense for not registering within 30 days, but now that fine can be reduced if they go to court, pay a $500 fine, and take care of the license and registration within 90 days.

Click here for the full story.